Skip to content
OUR BOOK OF THE MONTH IS STRANGERS ON A PIER BY TASH AW
OUR BOOK OF THE MONTH IS STRANGERS ON A PIER BY TASH AW

Fiction

  • Naomi Ishiguro

    Common Ground

    $29.00

    From the acclaimed author of Escape Routes, a bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world, in the tradition of Tin Man or Black Swan Green. It's a lonely life for Stan, at a new school that feels more ordeal than fresh start, and at home where he and his mother struggle to break the silence after his father's death. When he encounters fearless, clever Charlie on the local common, all of that begins to change. Charlie's curiosity is infectious, and it is Charlie who teaches Stan, for...

    View full details
  • Naomi Ishiguro

    Escape Routes

    $29.00

    A space-obsessed child conjures up a vortex in his mother's airing cupboard. A musician finds her friendship with a flock of birds opens up unexpected possibilities. A rat catcher, summoned to a decaying royal palace, is plunged into a battle for the throne of a ruined kingdom. Two newlyweds find themselves inhibited by the arrival in their lives of an outsized and watchful stuffed bear. Whether snared in traps artfully laid for them, or those of their own making, the characters in Naomi Ishi...

    View full details
  • Maggie O'Farrell

    Instructions For A Heatwave

    $18.00

    It's July 1976. In London, it hasn't rained for months, gardens are filled with aphids, water comes from a standpipe, and Robert Riordan tells his wife Gretta that he's going round the corner to buy a newspaper. He doesn't come back. The search for Robert brings Gretta's children - two estranged sisters and a brother on the brink of divorce - back home, each with different ideas as to where their father might have gone. None of them suspects that their mother might have an explanation that ev...

    View full details
  • Maggie O'Farrell

    This Must Be The Place

    $18.50

    A reclusive ex-film star living in the wilds of Ireland, Claudette Wells is a woman whose first instinct, when a stranger approaches her home, is to reach for her shotgun. Why is she so fiercely protective of her family, and what made her walk out of her cinematic career when she had the whole world at her feet? Her husband Daniel, reeling from a discovery about a woman he last saw twenty years ago, is about to make an exit of his own. It is a journey that will send him off-course, far away f...

    View full details