Faith Ng: Plays Volume One


This product is currently sold out.

by Faith Ng
published by Checkpoint Theatre


Edited by Lucas Ho and featuring an introduction by Dr Philip Holden, FAITH NG: PLAYS VOLUME 1 gathers together eight plays from one of Singapore’s most celebrated playwrights.

Honest and compelling, the plays of Faith Ng unerringly capture slices of Singapore life in all of its emotional complexity. Her plays constantly wrestle with the politics and poetics of the languages and relationships in Singapore: from WO(MEN), where the ties, secrets and silences within women from different generations are observed, to FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE, where the years of hurts, misunderstandings, but also love between a couple are laid bare, and to NORMAL, where the casual coarseness of teenagers show off their streetsmartness and disguises their hopes and despair. Deeply affecting and sensitively crafted, these plays firmly establish Faith Ng as a vital Singapore playwright.

- paperback: 360 pages
- product dimensions: 135 x 22 x 195 mm